I Can’t Be Your Band-Aid

Thought Catalog

I know you broke up with someone four months ago (or she broke up with you — I’m still unclear on that detail). I broke up with someone nine months ago, and it took me about eight months to get over it. I know that there are stages I’ve been through that you haven’t reached yet. Watching you is like seeing myself in the rear-view mirror. It’s all a little blurry, but I can pick up signs and landmarks that I’ve passed by before.

I want to take away all of the pain and I want to put the pieces back together for you. No one did that for me, and I know it would have been a lot easier if someone had come along and helped me. Not necessarily better, but it would have been easier. Putting yourself back together is lonely and isolating and scary. I know that it’s…

View original post 367 more words

Leave a Reply

